Sunday, March 10, 2019

17th Lok Sabha and 4 State Election Schedule announced

The Indian Election Commission has at last declared the poll schedule of the much anticipated 2019 elections to the Indian parliament and to the legislative assemblies of four states. The announcement of schedule and dates by the E C has been receiving wide criticism from many people and political parties except the BJP and its stakeholders. 

The Election Commission of India is an independent autonomous constitutional authority responsible for administering election processes in India. In the past it has been performing accordingly. But there is wide criticism these days that the government run by Modi in India has been swallowing all the autonomous institutions like the CBI, RBI, etc and the present acts of the ECI also point towards this allegations. At a time when the whole country was mourning the huge loss of life of our brave soldiers, prime minister Modi was busy conducting election rallies and announcing poll promises and welfare sops before the declaration of the election schedule and 'model code of conduct' came into effect.

The Lok Sabha Election Schedule 2019:

The Loksabha elections will be held in 7 lengthy phases across the country. Voting in the country will commence on April 11 and end on May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. 

Phase 1 (April 11) 

Andhra Pradesh: 25 seats 
Arunachal Pradesh: 2 seats 
Assam: 5 seats 
Bihar: 4 seats 
Chhattisgarh: 1 seat 
Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats 
Maharashtra: 7 seats 
Manipur: 1 seat 
Meghalaya: 2 seats 
Mizoram: 1 seat 
Nagaland: 1 seat 
Odisha: 4 seats 
Sikkim: 1 seat 
Telangana: 17 seats 
Tripura: 1 seat 
Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats 
Uttarakhand: 5 seats 
West Bengal: 2 seats 
Andaman and Nicobar: 1 seat 
Lakshadweep: 1 seat 

Phase 2 (April 18) 

Assam: 5 seats 
Bihar: 5 seats 
Chhattisgarh: 3 seats 
Jammu & Kashmir: 2 seats 
Karnataka: 14 seats 
Maharashtra: 10 seats 
Manipur: 1 seat 
Odisha: 5 seats 
Tamil Nadu: 39 seats 
Tripura: 1 seat 
Uttar Pradesh: 8 seats 
West Bengal: 3 seats 
Puducherry: 1 seat 

Phase 3 (April 23) 

Assam: 4 seats 
Bihar: 5 seats 
Chhattisgarh: 7 seats 
Gujarat: 26 seats 
Goa: 2 seats
Jammu and Kashmir: 1 seat 
Karnataka: 14 seats 
Kerala: 20 seats 
Maharashtra: 14 seats 
Odisha: 6 seats 
Uttar Pradesh: 10 seats 
West Bengal: 5 seats 
Dadra Nagar Haveli: 1 seat 
Daman & Diu: 1 seat 

Phase 4 (April 29) 

Bihar: 5 seats 
Jammu and Kashmir: 1 seat 
Jharkhand: 3 seats 
Madhya Pradesh: 6 seats 
Maharashtra: 17 seats 
Odisha: 6 seats 
Rajasthan: 13 seats 
Uttar Pradesh: 13 seats 
West Bengal: 8 seats 

Phase 5 (May 6) 

Bihar: 5 seats 
Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats 
Jharkhand: 4 seats 
Madhya Pradesh: 7 seats 
Rajasthan: 12 seats 
Uttar Pradesh: 14 seats 
West Bengal: 7 seats 

Phase 6 (May 12) 

Bihar: 8 seats 
Haryana: 10 seats 
Jharkhand: 4 seats 
Madhya Pradesh: 8 seats 
Uttar Pradesh: 14 seats 
West Bengal: 8 seats 
Delhi: 7 seats 

Phase 7 (May 19) 

Bihar: 8 seats 
Jharkhand: 3 seats 
Madhya Pradesh: 8 seats 
Punjab: 13 seats 
West Bengal: 9 seats 
Chandigarh: 1 seat 
Uttar Pradesh: 13 seats 
Himachal Pradesh: 4 seats

List of 17 States to hold polls in single phase:

Andaman Nicobar - 1st phase (11th April)
Andhra Pradesh -    1st phase (11th April)
Arunachal Pradesh -1st phase (11th April)
Chandigarh - 7th phase (19th May)
Dadra Nagar Haveli - 3rd phase (23rd April)
Daman & Diu - 3rd phase (23rd April)
Delhi - 6th phase (12th May)
Goa - 3rd phase (23rd April)
Gujarat - 3rd phase (23rd April)
Haryana - 6th phase (12th May)
Himachal Pradesh - 7th phase (19th May)
Kerala - 3rd phase (23rd April)
Meghalaya - 1st phase (11th April)
Mizoram -  1st phase (11th April)
Nagaland -  1st phase (11th April)
Puduchery - 2nd phase (2nd April)
Punjab - 7th phase (19th May)

1 State to hold polls in all 7 phases: 


The State Assembly Election Schedule 2019:

Five states in India are also going to elect a new government in 2019. They are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir Odisha (Orissa) and Sikkim.

Out of these, elections are announced in all the 4 states except Jammu and Kashmir.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are welcome on the above topic. Please do not spam.