Sunday, March 24, 2019

Who will win the Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha Seat in 2019?

Elections in Thiruvanathapuram Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the most engrossing news item capturing international attention during 2019 parliament polls. It is probably one of the most critical seats in entire India. Thiruvananthapuram parliament constituency is going to witness a very tough 'neck and neck' triangular fight this time.

The candidates representing all the three main fronts viz. the UDF, the LDF and the NDA are mass leaders with substantial following. 

1. Dr Shashi Tharoor  (UDF): 

A thinker, writer, eloquent speaker and a former international diplomat who is also serving as the sitting MP of the constituency. As he is a person with a cosmopolitan outlook, he is a powerful spoke man for the pillars of the Indian constitution like Democracy, Secularism and Socialism. He is seen as a peck in the eyes of Modi's BJP government as he engages in frequent criticism of the Government's bad policies. 

2. C. Divakaran (LDF):
He is a state executive member of CPI and the National Working committee member of All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC). He served as the minister of food in the previous LDF ministry. He is considered as a clean communist leader with wide acceptance. He has the support of the state government and leadership including CM Pinarayi Vijayan and LDF leaders.

3. Kummanam Rajashekharan (NDA):

He was asked to resign his Governor's post in Mizoram to contest in Thiruvanathapuram seat. Most popular leader in the NDA in Kerala. Though he began his political entry into BJP by being a fierce Hindu Aikya Vedi activist, as he is very humble, simple and maintains cordial relationship with all Religions in the state, he is accepted by many. He is being supported in the polls by the prime minister himself and his associates as it a matter of prestige for the BJP central command to open an account to the parliament from Kerala state.

Though there may also be some other independents contesting in this constituency, all eyes are turned towards the leaders representing the three main fronts as they are important. As all the three have a valid reason to contest and are confident of winning the seat though only one will finally be the winner. Who will it be? Can you guess? Please add below:

1 comment:

  1. If Dr Tharoor doesn't win, I'd conclude that the voters of the constituency are fools.


Your comments are welcome on the above topic. Please do not spam.